Gastric sleeve surgery is a huge life-changing decision. So before you choose to get surgery, you need to research honest gastric sleeve reviews to determine if it’s worth it for you.

Gastric sleeve surgery, known surgically as vertical sleeve gastrectomy (VSG), is a popular procedure that removes approximately 85% of the stomach. It may sound crazy, but it is safe, reliable, and effective for being a non-reversible, yet effective, bariatric operation.

The real question is – is gastric sleeve right for me?

Let’s find out…

Reviews and Experiences

“I had gastric sleeve surgery nearly 2.5 years ago at the age of 22. I was extremely overweight at 313 lbs when my weight loss journey began. I had contemplated the surgery before but my insurance would not cover it. When I discovered the surgery at a cheaper rate, I was very skeptical. I prayed about it, spoke with my family and my pastor and decided I would do it. I’ve lost 118 lbs and have managed to keep it off. Overall, I make better lifestyle choices, significantly less fried food, no carbonated beverages, and limited bread/sweets. I have 5 small cuts that you can barely see now and had little to no pain only taking 2 pain pills after surgery. Most were discomfort due to being cut and was more sore than in pain. If I had to do it again, I would and I would recommend it to anyone. I went from a size 28 to a size 16 wedding dress. I feel better, I can do more and have gotten my happiness back that I never even knew I lost.”

STACI, Gastric Sleeve Surgery

“Starting weight 318 / Surgery weight 295 / Current weight 217 / Sleeved by Mexico Bariatric Center in Tijuana on 02/15/18. LIFE CHANGER!! Thank you so much!”

KELLIE, Gastric Sleeve Surgery

“1 year and 4 months post op. Down 80 lbs!!!!”

JAKE, Gastric Sleeve Surgery

“236 lbs to 130 lbs sleeved 12/18/17”

ASHLEY, Gastric Sleeve Surgery

“Sleeved April 2017 I weighed heaviest 405 lbs today I maintain between 213 to 220 hard work gym time and cardio”

TONY, Gastric Sleeve Surgery

More Gastric Sleeve Reviews

Kelly down 142 pounds after gastric sleeve surgery

“4 years ago and now. I had to share! 2.5 years post-op. Down 142lbs and maintaining. Life is so good!! If you are on the fence, just do it!!!! “

– Kelly, Gastric Sleeve

Lisa gastric sleeve surgery in January 2019 reviews

“Sleeve Surgery Jan 19/19 I have been feeling like my progress has slowed down tremendously. I did a side by side for comparison and I am shocked when I see the difference. Anyone else who is having doubts this is for you, don’t.. just do it… I almost cancelled my surgery 3 weeks prior and am so thankful I didn’t. Just over 7 months post OP and down 108 pounds!”

– Lisa Gastric Sleeve

Emily gastric sleeve review recently got the sleeve surgery

“As I embark to my Safari trip to Kenya tomorrow, I know I’ll miss my 11 month post. If you’re ever on the fence, there’s proof. Blue swim suit was size 16. Black swimsuit is size XS! You got this! I wish I did it sooner!”
– Emily, Gastric Sleeve

Tony 2 years post op and maintaining results gastric sleeve reviews

“Look at this amazing transformation 😍😍😍 Or former patient Tony. 2 years and he is still keeping up!!! Thank you for keeping in touch with us! Only you can determine the outcome.”
– Tony, Gastric Sleeve

Is Gastric Sleeve Worth It?

Gastric sleeve surgery has an extremely low complication rate and has a very high success rate. The gastric sleeve is worth it if patients are willing, able, and motivated to change lifestyle habits and follow the pre-op and post-op diet.

The most important thing to remember is gastric sleeve surgery is a tool – so you have to put in work to overcome morbid obesity and stay within the normal BMI range.

Positives vs Negatives

The biggest aspect you need to think about when thinking if gastric sleeve is worth it is your future. Do the financial costs and possible risks outweigh the benefits of gastric sleeve surgery. Think about future savings, happiness, obesity-related health problems, confidence, motivation, obesity death rates, and achieving weight loss.

I am not telling you it is going to be easy - I am telling you it will be worth it

Gastric sleeve surgery can be expensive without insurance covering a majority of the cost. Even with insurance, it can still be pricey. There are additional self-pay options like gastric sleeve in Mexico starting at $4,595.

How Does Gastric Sleeve Save Money Long-Term

The amount of money that spend on being overweight and obese adds up quickly. Gastric sleeve saves money long-term, by reducing

  1. Cost of medication
  2. Cost of food and groceries
  3. Cost of eating out/fast food
  4. Cost of doctor visits and checkups
  5. Insurance costs
  6. Diet program costs

See how much money you can really save from weight loss surgery

There are also financing options regardless of where you get surgery. Here are some resources for gastric sleeve financing.

Regardless of how much you have to pay, it’s important to find out if the pros of gastric sleeve surgery outweigh the cons – meaning the disadvantages like cost, complications, and failure rate (which can all be significantly low and well worth it).

Statistics and Interesting Facts

Gastric Sleeve Problems [Possible Complications and Risks]

Complications are a risk of undergoing any surgery. Fortunately, gastric sleeve has one of the lowest complication rates compared to other bariatric surgeries. The current complication rate in the United States is 0.96% in the first 30 days post-op.1

Some gastric sleeve problems, complications, and risks include2;

Check out the Pros and Cons of Gastric Sleeve Surgery!

Gastric Sleeve Horror Stories

Like any surgical procedure, horror stories can happen. In order to avoid these potential problems, it’s your duty to do due diligence on doctors, hospitals, reviews, success rates, and complication rates.

Gastric Sleeve Success Rate

Success is high for gastric sleeve surgery but only with following the post-op diet and aftercare plan set by your surgeon or dietician. As many as 50% of patients may regain a small amount of weight in 2 years – while this could be a little weight or a complete gastric sleeve failure.3

Gastric Sleeve Before and After Photos [Patient Experiences]

“Starting weight 318 / Surgery weight 295 / Current weight 217 / Sleeved by Mexico Bariatric Center in Tijuana on 02/15/18. LIFE CHANGER!! Thank you so much!” – Kellie


“1 year and 4 months post op. Down 80 lbs!!!!” – Jaky


“236 lbs to 130 lbs sleeved 12/18/17” – Ashley


“Sleeved April 2017 I weighed heaviest 405 lbs today I maintain between 213 to 220 hard work gym time and cardio” – Tony


Is Gastric Sleeve Surgery Right For Me?

At the end of the day, it’s your decision and you will live with it. These gastric sleeve reviews are here so you have an unbiased (unfiltered) view to deciding if gastric sleeve surgery is right for you. Like any surgery, you need to weigh out the pros and cons of your life. Maybe gastric sleeve isn’t worth it for you, but a different bariatric surgery may be a better option.

References