Gastric Sleeve Reviews – Is Gastric Sleeve Surgery Worth It?

Gastric sleeve surgery is a huge life-changing decision. So before you choose to get surgery, you need to research honest gastric sleeve reviews to determine if it’s worth it for you.

Gastric sleeve surgery, known surgically as vertical sleeve gastrectomy (VSG), is a popular procedure which removes approximately 85% of the stomach. It may sound crazy, but it is safe, reliable, and effective for being a non-reversible, invasive bariatric surgery.

The real question is – is gastric sleeve right for me?

Let’s find out.

See If You Qualify for Weight Loss Surgery - Mexico Bariatric Center

Gastric Sleeve Reviews [Real Patient Experiences]

“I had gastric sleeve surgery nearly 2.5 years ago at the age of 22. I was extremely overweight at 313 lbs when my weight loss journey began. I had contemplated the surgery before but my insurance would not cover it. When I discovered the surgery at a cheaper rate, I was very skeptical. I prayed about it, spoke with my family and my pastor and decided I would do it. I’ve lost 118 lbs and have managed to keep it off. Overall, I make better lifestyle choices, significantly less fried food, no carbonated beverages and limited breads/sweets. I have 5 small cuts that you can barely see now, and had little to no pain only taking 2 pain pills after surgery. Most was discomfort due to being cut and was more sore than in pain. If I had to do I again, I would and I would recommend it to anyone. I went from a size 28 to a size 16 wedding dress. I feel better, I can do more and have gotten my happiness back that I never even knew I lost. 💜 – Staci


“I was sleeved May 9th, 2018. The entire experience was amazing. 74 pounds gone forever with more to go! I started the 1st day of my new life when I awoke from surgery with zero regrets.” – Jenny


“I had gastric sleeve on 5/31/18. Down 60 pounds. Feel GREAT….taking vitamins and exercising. Bestest decision I’ve ever made. 😍😍 – Darlene


“Down 43 pounds since July 4 thank you, Dr. Cabrera. Oh and yes no more blood pressure meds!” – Jerome


“5 months post-op from gastric sleeve down 81 lbs. Thankful to have my life back!” – Paige


“I had the sleeve in May (3 months ago). Down 50 lbs. I was treated extremely well. I went alone but never felt I was by myself. I never needed the pain medication after I left the hospital. Thank you for giving me back my life.” – Sandy


Check out our Gastric Sleeve Weight Loss Timeline and Chart!

Is Gastric Sleeve Worth It?

Gastric sleeve surgery has an extremely low complication rate and has a very high success rate. The gastric sleeve is worth it if patients are willing, able, and motivated to change lifestyle habits and follow the pre-op and post-op diet.

The most important thing to remember is gastric sleeve surgery is a tool – so you have to put in work to overcome morbid obesity and stay within the normal BMI range.

Gastric Sleeve Cost

The biggest aspect you need to think about is the cost. Is the price you have to pay for gastric sleeve surgery worth the reward. Think about happiness, obesity-related health risks, confidence, motivation, and achieving weight loss.

Gastric sleeve surgery can be expensive without insurance covering a majority of the cost. Even with insurance, it can still be pricey. There are additional self-pay options like gastric sleeve in Mexico which starts at $4,695.

There are also financing options regardless of where you get surgery. Here are some resources for gastric sleeve financing.

Regardless of how much you have to pay, it’s important to find out if the pros of gastric sleeve surgery outweigh the cons – meaning the disadvantages like cost, complications, and failure rate (which can all be significantly low and well worth it).

Gastric Sleeve Statistics [Interesting Facts]

Gastric Sleeve Problems [Possible Complications and Risks]

Complications are a risk of undergoing any surgery. Fortunately, gastric sleeve has one of the lowest complication rates compared to other bariatric surgeries. The current complication rate in the United States is 0.96% in the first 30 days post-op.1

Some gastric sleeve problems, complications, and risks include2;

Check out the Pros and Cons of Gastric Sleeve Surgery!

Gastric Sleeve Horror Stories

Like any surgical procedure, horror stories can happen. In order to avoid these potential problems, it’s your duty to do due diligence on doctors, hospitals, reviews, success rates, and complication rates.

Gastric Sleeve Success Rate

Success is high for gastric sleeve surgery but only with following the post-op diet and aftercare plan set by your surgeon or dietician. As many as 50% of patients may regain a small amount of weight in 2 years – while this could be a little weight or a complete gastric sleeve failure.3

Gastric Sleeve Before and After Photos [Patient Experiences]

“Starting weight 318 / Surgery weight 295 / Current weight 217 / Sleeved by Dr. Cabrera on 02/15/18. LIFE CHANGER!! Thank you so much!” – Kellie


“1 year and 4 months post op. Down 80 lbs!!!!” – Jaky


“236 lbs to 130 lbs sleeved 12/18/17” – Ashley


“Sleeved April 2017 I weighed heaviest 405 lbs today I maintain between 213 to 220 hard work gym time and cardio” – Tony


Should I Get Gastric Sleeve?

At the end of the day, it’s your decision and you will live with it. These gastric sleeve reviews are here so you have an unbiased (unfiltered) view to deciding if gastric sleeve surgery is right for you. Like any surgery, you need to weigh out the pros and cons of your life. Maybe gastric sleeve isn’t worth it for you, but a different bariatric surgery may be a better option.

References

By |2018-09-21T16:51:40+00:00September 4th, 2018|Uncategorized|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment